We are not hostile, we just want to eliminate you

by
The Alliance Defense Fund has been running ads in a number of campus newspapers across the country to encourage students at schools with onerous, unconstitutional policies to stand up for their rights.
 
In an Oct. 20 piece in response to the ADF Center for Academic Freedom ad that appeared in the University of Iowa’s “Daily Iowan,” self-described UI admissions counselor” Tom Gioielli assures readers that ADF is blowing smoke about the threat against free speech on campus:
 

As I was perusing through the Oct. 19 issue of The Daily Iowan, I was intrigued by a half-page advertisement from the Alliance Defense Fund that read “College Students Deserve An Education Not Indoctrination.” Thinking this was a very true statement and a great point, I then looked under the caption to see the following statement: “Christian students at our public universities are being denied their right to openly express what they believe.”

 I’m sorry to be rude, but what the hell has this group been smoking?

Gioielli continues:

Now should religious figures be silenced at all on our college campus? Of course not. They have every right to speak what they believe as I do.

Fair enough, right?  Well, stand by for the conclusion – his message to Christians and the call-to-arms for his “tolerant” compatriots:

Keep out of our public schools. You already hold sway over a vast number of children and young adults in this country. The University of Iowa alone has over 20 officially recognized religious group on campus and an open forum for discussion. To all of the other tolerant religious or agnostic people out there: We should work together to root out this type of fundamentalist brainwashing that is occurring throughout our country.
 
So, Mr. Gioielli needs to answer the question: Does he believe Christians have a right to speak, or does he believe Christians need to be rooted out, eliminated from public schools?  It is not possible for one to believe both.  Oh, that pesky law of non-contradiction.
 
Even absent an answer, it’s pretty clear where this “UI admissions counselor” stands: with the vast majority of public universities and their administrations that maintain and enforce the very unconstitutional policies and practices the ADF Center for Academic Freedom is successfully knocking down across the country.  Toxic ideas like those expressed in Mr. Gioielli’s piece are not to be censored, but they are reason the Alliance Defense Fund has taken up the banner of freedom for college students across America who are asking for nothing more than a restoration of their First Amendment rights.   
Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “We are not hostile, we just want to eliminate you”

  1. minot_1966 Says:

    If you posted this because of the email I sent the ADF asking for their response thank you. If you posted this because the intolerance of opposing view points bothers you, thank you. The ADF is a good cause, even for us atheists, and I fully support their work.

  2. Greg Scott Says:

    Thanks minot_1966. No, I have not seen your email, but sincerely appreciate your support. There should be more people like you out there who genuinely cherish freedom and the marketplace of ideas.

  3. Tom Gioielli Says:

    I could not find an email address to send comments to on your site, so I suppose I will leave my message in the comments.

    First of all I do not understand why you are questioning what my job title is at the University of Iowa. If you would like to do some research and check the admissions page you will indeed see that I work as an Admissions Counselor, so feel free to remove the quotes around my title.

    I have not seen your site before today, but from what I can see I support and agree with your cause. I feel that my letter to the editor of our school paper deserves some more explanation from me on its intent. I have never been a particularly eloquent writer, and this letter was no exception. At no point in this letter did I call on the school or on the paper, the Daily Iowan, to refuse to let religious groups/advertisers on our campus. I wholeheartedly agree that all groups have a place on a college campus, and diversity in ideas is what makes our secondary education system great. This letter was, however, aimed at religious organizations who continue to play the role of victim when it comes to public institutions, when the reality is far different.

    I do stand by my call for religious indoctrination of children and the bullying of religious groups to be forced on students in public schools to be eradicated. If this is what you are taking issue with, then I suppose we agree to disagree. However, I did find that the tone of your article was somewhat disrespectful and rude. Just because this is the internet does not mean this does not have an impact on the people you write about. I wrote this letter for the University of Iowa community to see, and now anyone who googles my name will see it on the first page of results. You might want to keep that in mind next time.

Leave a Reply

